You Get the Job… If I like You!

Your resume only has 10 Seconds to impress a recruiter.

What happens next if you’re qualified…
http://compliancex.com/your-resume-has-only-10-seconds-to-quickly-catch-the-attention-of-human-resources-hiring-managers-and-recruiters/

I wrote this in response to Compliancex-Blog [above] concerning this subject, and have thought it only fair to display another opinion about this topic…

The difference between me and everyone else applying for a job is, I don’t have to spend that much time “tweaking” my resume to match the requirement because I already qualify.

I already have a highly adaptable skillset that most people would kill for – As an English Major, I have a command of language and ease of writing.  Typing is just the icing on the cake!  I’ve done well to have kept myself employed, as both a Consultant and a Temp… Until now.

My prior technology skills, work experience, and solid financial background garner me interviews… countless interviews. So what am I doing wrong? Nothing. Am I personable? Yes. Otherwise, how did I convince all those other people to like me enough to hire “me” before? Your resume just gets your foot in the door.

People have to “like” you AND want to work with You! Suddenly, with all this work experience I’m “over-qualified” a term I never thought I’d hear in my Career!  I learnt, early on, that a job interview is 50% personality, 30% likeability and just 20% resume!  That’s right, 20% in 10 seconds.

I make sure every resume speaks to the job requirement – That top ¼ to ½ of the first page must say, “What do you bring to the table that I’m looking for.”

And yes, there is a trick. If you have “Escalated” problems and the job description says “Mitigated” problems you have to change it to what [they] say.  You can’t just assume they’ll translate [your] resume to qualify for what [they] want.

I get it. Today’s job market truly is a Word Game! The more words that correspond to the job, the more likely you will get called for an interview.

Case in point:
I recently re-wrote a resume for a woman who had both Medical Billing and Financial Administrative work experience on her resume.  I created two separate “focused” resumes. I utilized sentences from her work history and I tailored [each] to the respective job market.

A few weeks later I asked her for some feedback.  She said, after months of trying and trying and submitting her resume, she never got an interview – until now!  She was thankful for her new resume(s) in a professional manner for only $50 – Not the $150 some other sites charge for the same quality work!  I wrote two resumes that adequately reflected her work experience, without fudging the facts.

She believed each resume represented “exactly” what she was looking for in a job, and was happy to have landed her next position. I’ve never lied on my resume, or on anyone else’s.

I think there is a writing sophistication HR recruiters are looking for that “Flag” you as interview material – Not just your work history!

So what’s my excuse?
I have gone on more than 20 face-to-face interviews and countless telephone screens… My problem is, with the precariousness of the job market, nobody wants to hire someone “truly” qualified that may pose a threat to their position, despite when I say [and insist] that I only want to be part of the “team” and can contribute my knowledge and experience to the project.

They can’t say I’m Not Qualified since they’ll have to explain why?

I have been “excused” out of jobs before.  Like this:  We like her skills but we’re looking at another position for her…Tell her: ‘If she receives another job offer, take [that] offer, don’t wait for us.

In other words, we know you’ll qualify for (something) else, but WE don’t want you here either!   This is truly the New job market. And now there’s a New problem.

Guest workers who have infiltrated Corporate America in key positions can “choose” who they want to work with. If their H1B-Visa is contingent upon their remaining employed in this country, they will get the position before a U.S. Citizen.

I’ve chronicled how Guest Workers now have the power to discriminate against the American-Born worker, as I have witnessed the subtle dismissal of Americans firsthand.  I watched tailored resumes written by other [Guest-Workers], fudging the facts to get the job, then, they get to learn on-the-job without any prior experience. They coach and mentor one another for additional support…

I like the “Good Old Days” when Managers did the interviewing and hired Employees based upon “Capability” not “Likability!”

At the end of the day, you get the job…. Only If I like You!

Cachae A. Thomas – Is a freelance Business Analyst Writer and Consultant, as well as Author of the new eBook Red, White, and Poor – How Outsourcing has Economically Divided America – Now available in Digital Download!

RWPHub.me

 

Leave a Reply

